MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2006-07-14, 01:57
KingDiamond904
New Blood

Balance problems with double bass...

I've been playing drums for a couple months now and have tried to play double bass for the past month or so...The main problem is that when I play it seems as though im walking through mud and i can barely keep my balance on the throne let alone a steady beat upstairs...also my legs seem to tense up while playing
IDK if anybody else has had these problems but I'd truly appreciate some help on it cause its driving my bandmates and I fuckin' crazy lol! thnx

srry for the extra double bass thread...

Old 2006-07-14, 12:10
MorbidGuitar
Post-whore

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingDiamond904
I've been playing drums for a couple months now...

You JUST started playing, thats why.

Old 2006-07-14, 12:40
The Doctor
Denimwearinghillbilly
Forum Leader

indeed, practise a lot, dont start off too fast, start s l o w l y . . .

Old 2006-07-14, 19:26
CompelledToLacerate
FFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

I've always tried playing double bass on songs that don't require it, just so to get used to the feeling of having another pedal in my control.

play this, starting at 120 bpm

Hh|x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-|
Sn|----o-------o---|
Bd|o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-|

This is, obviously at 120 bpm, a beat you can play with just one pedal. BUT not quite an easy beat play at, say.... well, alot higher than 120 bpm. So, as The Doctor said, start slowly. Build up your control of both pedals. If you start off too fast, you're gonna hurt your technique more and end up playing sloppy.... unless you want to play in a noisecore band, then that's ok (buh dump-bump *crash*). Just kidding.