MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Vocal Zone

Old 2006-07-04, 06:46
scard
New Blood

Matt Shadows

Hey guys, I'm new here.
Sorry for a newbie starting a thread, but I've got a question for you guys.

How do you sing like Matt Shadows? Not scream, but sing like him.

He seems to have three ways to sing: clear, whiny, and scratchy.
I just can't get that scratchy sound like he does. If you want examples, he sings clearly in the beginning of "Seize the Day", but after the guitar solo, he starts singing more scratchy-like.

Sorry if I sound like a complete beginner, I just really want to know how to do this.

Old 2006-07-04, 09:16
metal_monkey
Post-whore

what band?

Youve made me cry

Quote:
Originally Posted by problematic
Metal Monkey: retarded comments galore.

RIP this guy

Old 2006-07-04, 09:49
Panda
Senior Metalhead

matt "shadows" sanders is the singer of avenged sevenfold

Old 2006-07-04, 14:13
metal_monkey
Post-whore

oooo

why the fuck would you want to sing like him, unless your a faggy emo

Youve made me cry

Quote:

RIP this guy

Old 2006-07-04, 15:06
Valtiel
Supreme Metalhead

Dont waste your time trying to sound like someone else, especially that guy. If you are going to put time and energy into becoming a vocalist then you should focus and creating your own style with your own voice. Never just resolve to copy someone else, its the worst thing you can do with your time.
"So often our hands get caught up in ruts of muscle memory. 'Muscle memory' is an accurate term. We get used to doing certain things, without even being aware of them. This ultimately not only shapes and therefore limits our technique, it also shapes what we compose, what we write. We end up thinking still unknowingly trapped in that box." -Adam Nitti

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_bleeding
buy a stick of graphite (art stores) and rub it into your nut

Old 2006-07-04, 22:24
scard
New Blood