MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2006-03-13, 01:02
CompelledToLacerate
FFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

Need help with double bass

I've been drumming for about 2-3 years, and I think I've gotten pretty good. But when it comes to double bass playing, I suck. I can only do like fast 8th notes, but I can't do anthing fast than like 16th notes at 156 bpm... sort of guessing on the number, so I may be wrong. It might be lower.

Well, anyways, I've tried adjust my pedal, tightening/loosening the spring tension, moving the beaters away/closer to the head. The technique book I got was money down the drain. When I do get a decent double bass roll going, I just start to speed up and get quieter. I can't keep a beat with it either, and also I can't keep my foot on the pedal sometimes.

Now I want to just say that I'll never learn it and just use what I can do witha single pedal (which I can do good with), but my band wants to cover Cradle of Filth's Cthulhu Dawn, which has alot of double bass in it (obviously).

I was wondering how some of you learned how to play double bass. How did you guys develop the strength and control in your feet to do fast double bass playing? Did you do any rudiments, excercises? I would really appreciate any help you can give.

Old 2006-03-13, 02:05
band357
Metalhead

The thing is, there is no quick setup tip or excersize that will immediately speed you up and make you consistant (unless your old setup really blew!)... The trick is practice... like anything else, you have to start SLOWLY. People who just jump in and try to go fast from day 1 are never as fast, clean, or stable as those who practice properly. 8th notes isn't a bad start. I would get some simple excersizes (check the derek roddy forum), and play them slowly. It will take some time, but you will actually learn to use double bass, rather than just make fast, retarded noises with them.