MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2006-03-06, 06:53
band357
Metalhead

JF Richard - Hot damn! Most under-rated?

So, I've been drumming for 14 years... since the tender young age of 7. In that time, I've had 10 years of professional training, have marched for 4 years, and have taught for 8. My point is, like many of you, I've had a lot of experience with drummers, styles, techniques, etc.

So...
Why does NO ONE speak about JF Richard, the outstanding drummer for Ion Dissonance? I'm not sure any of you have had any proper exposure to Ion Dissonance, or else, the material just doesn't sink in. Due to the complexity and intensity of Ion Dissonance's material, it often flies over the head of people, even those with musical training. But JF is one of the most phenomenal drummers I've had the pleasure of listening to. His utilization of polyrhythm, odd-time signatures, dexterity, control, speed, and punctuation/syncopation is unparallel.
For those without any exposure, you can hear a some songs at
http://www.myspace.com/iondissonance
However, not nearly enough of his repertoire is displayed in these songs. I fully recommend nabbing ID's latest album "Solace" by whatever means necessary (legally is highly promoted ). It is a unique, highly impressive display of skill on the part of all musicians, and should be carefully listened to. There are layers of complexity to be deconstructed.

JF is one of the best drummers on the scene these days, and deserves much more exposure. Just try and tab him, I dare you

Old 2006-03-06, 07:08
NZ black metal drumm
Post-whore

well we will check him out, I have never heard of them, so I will lend an ear.

Old 2006-03-06, 07:16
band357
Metalhead

thank the gods for willing ears! As I said, those songs are only a taste, but they do him some justice.