MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2006-02-03, 01:00
Miscarriage
New Blood

Odd double bass conflict?

Well, i've been playing drums for a little over 3 years and i've been playing double bass for.. afew months, mabye 4? Anyhow, I play Axis-X2 pedals and I love them, had to make some minor adjustments as i'd imagine most drummers do to their equipment, but after all of this I still can't seem to find a comfortable position you could say? I practice my double bass as I would my singles on hands and work around triplets, gallops, etc.. To build a more rounded spectrum on the pedals. I can go relatively quickly and I can feel it.. but it seems that my pedals shake some when I go certain speeds, this was later resolved by adjusting the lag on my left pedal.. but even still it does a slight bit and I feel that perhaps that is causing me to fail to progress slightly. I can pull out rather fast double bass but it seems the notes become.. incohearant, but i'm hardly placing too much effort.. My technique from what i've been told is right.. but i'm lost as to what it could be.

It seems more like a gear question, but I figured i'd get a better response here knowing people who practice such. I'm curious is this a common practice issue or is it something that could be fixed with some sort of adjustment?

Thanks for reading, and if anymore info is needed, please say so.

Old 2006-02-03, 01:47
NZ black metal drumm
Post-whore

your left pedal wobbles you say?

is it set firmly on the ground? because of the velcro on the underside it is possible to over set the pedal slightly so that it has actually lifted up slightly on one side, this could cause the wobble you are talking about, but I would need more information about the wobble, have you tried playing with the left pedal with your right foot and trying to see where the wobble is?

Old 2006-02-03, 06:37
low-tech
Post-whore