MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2004-11-09, 15:02
eaterofthedead888
New Blood

Question Beaters and Bass Drum Heads

I've been playing drums for about ten years, and I feel confident in my playing ability. But until resent, I've never really paid attention to how my drums sound. I am becoming more and more disapointed in the sound of my drums everyday. In particular, I HATE the washed out sound of my bass drum. I'd like to give it a more cutting attack and I've considered triggering my bass, but I don't have that kind of cash. What drum heads or bass drum beaters would you guys suggest?

Old 2004-11-09, 19:38
The Execrator
Noob lud

Try the EMAD bass drum head by Evans. It has 2 different sized styrofoam mufflers to get different sounds. I got it about 2 months ago and i think it kicks ass. I have felt beaters on my double pedal. Ive never played any other kind of beaters besides the Axis one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy
Please excuse me for I currently have a terminal erection, and the only cure is midget-cunny.

Old 2004-11-10, 02:42
NZ black metal drumm
Post-whore

Tighten up your batter and response head, and fill your bass full of slothes (experiment with how much is needed) this will give a nice Duh! it sounds killer when miked up!!

Old 2004-11-10, 02:55
eaterofthedead888
New Blood

Thumbs up

Thanks for your insites! I've tightened my heads and filled my bass drum with two old pillows. I like the initial thud, but now there's also a real vulgar twangy sound. "I guess you win some and you lose some."

Old 2004-11-10, 04:35
NZ black metal drumm
Post-whore

vulgar twang? there shouldn't be, check for anything that is loose on your bass, or check your snare wire, it won't be your bass twanging!

Old 2004-11-10, 12:48
eaterofthedead888
New Blood